0 3 mins 3 mths

After overcoming a significant knee injury that forced him to miss the entire 2022 season, Sporting Kansas City

forward Alan Pulido has been named the 2023 MLS Comeback Player of the Year.The Mexican international produced an MLS career-best and club-high 14 goals in 2023 alongside three assists as SKC returned to the Audi MLS Cup Playoffs.

Pulido, nearly 14 months after his setback was announced, returned for SKC in an April 1 match at the

Philadelphia Union. The club-record signing never looked back, and in September was rewarded with a Designated Player contract extension

.Some accomplishments for Pulido in 2023 include:MLS Player of the Month presented by CELSIUS in June after scoring a league-high six goals in five matches.

From June through Decision Day, Pulido’s 13 goals were the second-most in the league.Pulidos four multi-goal games were the second-most in MLS.

Among players with at least 50 shot attempts in 2023, Pulido scored 25.9% of those (14-of-54) – the best mark in MLS.

Pulidos form coincided with SKC emerging from a 10-game winless start to the season (0W-7L-3D).From May to the end of the 2023 campaign, SKC led the Western Conference in points (41), wins (12) and goals per game (1.88), while ranking second in goal differential (+10).

The MLS Comeback Player of the Year honors an MLS player who has overcome a severe injury and/or adversity and, as a result, missed a significant portion of the 2022 season – then shown improved performance to achieve success during the 2023 season.

The award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media, and current MLS players. Pulido beat out fellow finalists

Miles Robinson (Atlanta United) and João Paulo (Seattle Sounders FC).Voting ResultsPlayersClubsMediaTOTAL

1. Alan Pulido (SKC)22.01%28.21%52.02%34.08%2. Miles Robinson (ATL)27.04%38.46%10.98%25.50%3. João Paulo (SEA)

8.18%12.82%6.36%9.12%MLS Comeback Player of the Year Winners2023: Alan Pulido – Sporting Kansas City2022: Gonzalo Higuaín – Inter Miami CF

2021: Carles Gil – New England Revolution2020: Bradley Wright-Phillips – Los Angeles Football Cub2019: Jordan Morris – Seattle Sounders FC

2018: Gyasi Zardes – Columbus Crew SC2017: Clint Dempsey – Seattle Sounders FC2016: Chris Pontius – Philadelphia Union

2015: Tim Melia – Sporting Kansas City2014: Rodney Wallace – Portland Timbers2013: Kevin Alston – New England Revolution

2012: Eddie Johnson – Seattle Sounders FC2011: David Beckham – LA Galaxy2010: Bobby Convey – San Jose Earthquakes

2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA2008: Kenny Cooper – FC Dallas2007: Eddie Johnson – Kansas City Wizards

2006: Richard Mulrooney – FC Dallas2005: Chris Klein – Kansas City Wizards2004: Brian Ching – San Jose Earthquakes

2003: Chris Armas – Chicago Fire2002: Chris Klein – Kansas City Wizards2001: Troy Dayak – San Jose Earthquakes

2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *